1.  Horses wear shoes because they protect their hooves from wearing down
  2.  Horses grow about the length of a whole hoof a year
  3.  It doesn’t hurt when you cut their hooves it the same as cutting your hair or your fingernails

My Momma always told me that horseshoes mean good luck. It’s almost like she acts like she has no luck I mean there’s horseshoes everywhere in this old country house, rusty ones, shiny ones, worn ones, and ones weird enough that they have flower designs on them. I tell my Momma that she’s crazy and she just laughs. That day I was wondering what horseshoes do for the horses I don’t have one myself but my Momma does so I asked her at dinner. “Jenna how was your day today?” said Momma “Good” I said while taking a bite of my spaghetti. “I was wondering what horseshoes do to help the horses feet?” I said. “Well other than luck they help the hooves from wearing down because without it there hooves would wear down faster than they grow. There hooves grow about the length of another hoove a year!” said Momma. “Wow!” I said. “They have to cut them sometimes though from keeping them from getting too long.” said Momma “Does it hurt?” I asked. “No honey it like cutting your nails or your hair” said Momma. “Oh good” I said. “Jenna you should come out to the barn and ride again soon” said Momma. “OK” I said.

One thought on “Why Do Horses Wear Shoes?

  1. I think this post was very entertaining. It took me back in time. I could hear my momma saying ¨You know horseshoes are good luck, thatś why we have one hang above the door¨ Thanks for giving me a memory back.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *